Compiling ActionScript 3.0 with Flex 3 SDK

Upon installation of the Flex 3 SDK in Mac OS X, I installed Flex in a place that I could find easily on the command line without having to worry about permissions too much.

~/flex_sdk_3

According to the Flex 3 SDK Release Notes, I should be able to review the explorer example by running the following script.

install_root/samples/explorer/build.sh

Well, I mistakenly thought I could navigate to that directory and run the script.

cd ~/flex_sdk_3/samples/explorer
build.sh

However, that didn’t work. I needed to run the script using the full path.

/Users/stephen/flex_sdk_3/samples/explorer/build.sh

The code is still compiling several minutes later. I think I’m going to need a faster processor for testing large applications like this. I suppose it should be fine for short snippets of ActionScript code.


About this entry